Starting at the beginning…

I thought it might be helpful to start with some basic info on alcoholism,  just so that you can understand how prevalent it is in the United States. According to the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, “in the United States, 17.6 million people–about l in every 12 adults–abuse alcohol or are alcohol dependent.” The effects on family members and loved ones are huge and long-lasting. I’m now 33 years old, and still struggle almost daily with repercussions from growing up in an alcoholic home. There are some unique survival mechanisms that are developed by children who grow up in alcoholic homes, and even when the alcoholic parent is no longer in the picture, those survival mechanisms have developed into life-long habits. The skills I developed as a child, while necessary and helpful at that time, now cause frustration and problems in my life as an adult. My goal is to evaluate my behaviors, feelings, and thoughts and weed out those survival mechanisms that are no longer of benefit to me. My next post will start with the first of 13 common traits of adult children of alcoholics, and my own thoughts on, and experiences with, these traits.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah Oakley
    May 14, 2011 @ 08:03:15

    Wow, what an interesting idea! I look forward to reading it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

